dedicated to the support of living musicians and composers

Two Giants of the New Music Scene

Two Giants of the New Music Scene

On Wednesday June 23, 2010, yesterday, I was privileged to spend the day at the very up to date studios of WPRB, Community Public Radio, Princeton, NJ.

It was my great joy to meet two giants of the New Music scene, WPRB on-air host Marvin Rosen, and from the Innova label, Philip Blackburn, Director of Artist Services at the American Composers Forum, the home of Innova.
innova

I have considered both of these guys as “friends” for quite some time. But this was the first time I had met either one of them.

Left, Marvin Rosen; right, Philip Blackburn

Marvin is the host of two programs at WPRB on Wednesdays, Classical Discoveries and Classical Discoveries Goes Avant-garde. Marvin also hosts the Classical Discoveries web site.

From Innova, I have recently featured a number of CD releases, two of which are
pe
Frank Almond, violin, Brian Zeger piano, “A tender exploration of two distinct generations of American composers in the 20th and 21st centuries.”

pm
Present Music, “Milwaukee’s all-star chamber ensemble.”

I cannot adequately express my joy at meeting these two stellar lights in my musical firmament. To be able to watch Marvin at work and listen to their repartee on air was exhilarating. Since I am only an interested music listener, it is also something of a personal victory when I can place myself among such people and not make a complete ass of myself.

A special added benefit for me was meeting “DBR”, Daniel Bernard Roumain, a highly accomplished Haitian-American violinist, band leader, composer, and educator. We were treated to an in-studio solo violin performance which was absolutely arresting.

“DBR” in performance
dbr
Just an extra photo from “DBR’s” web site, but one I especially loved.

It was a very long day, but one which I will remember for a long time.


In this last photo, I am the plumpish guy on the right, clearly the guy with no artistic talent on my own.

Leave a Reply

