dedicated to the support of living musicians and composers

John Meets Marvin – I’d Love to Be A Fly On The Wall

John Meets Marvin – I’d Love to Be A Fly On The Wall

I have some of my best – or worst – ideas while out on my exercise walks. Here is my latest:

I would love to be present when John Schaefer of WNYC’s New Sounds and Soundcheck and Marvin Rosen of WPRB’s Classical Discoveries and Classical Discoveries Goes Avantgarde might meet.

John Schaefer is the absolute impresario of New Music in New York City, maybe now, with the internet, the whole wide world. I have been listening to John it seems forever. New Sounds took me from my father’s world of Beethoven through Copland to the heights of the late 20th century with Arvo Pärt, Sir John Tavener, the Turtle Island Quartet, Steve Reich, Philip Glass and oh so many more great artists and composers. These days, Soundcheck is the key destination for artists and composers both new and not so new. It was on John’s Soundcheck celebration of New Sounds’ 20th anniversary that the Turtle Island guys said and I paraphrase, no New Sounds, no Turtle Island. I still have a copy of the 1985 interview with Steve Reich from the broadcast premier of the Desert Music.


John Schaefer

Marvin Rosen is the impresario of the Classical Discoveries web site. His two programs Classical Discoveries and Classical Discoveries Goes Avantgarde are a constant education. One of Marvin’s mottos, identical with mine, is “support living composers”. On Marvin’s longer programs this Summer, he has hosted extended interviews with Maya Beiser, Jennifer Castellano, Piffaro – The Rennaisance Band, Ethel, guitarist and Princeton University Professor Steve Mackey, Innova’s Philip Blackburn, and Barbara Harbach. What? You don’t know who some of them are? Tune in every Wednesday from about 6:00AM-3:00PM during the rest of this Summer and you will surely learn who they are and get a fuller education. Marvin is Dr Marvin Rosen, member of the Arts Faculty at Westminster Conservatory.

mr

If I had to thank John for one composer, it would be Arvo Pärt. When I went all digital, I had to rip 16 CD’s to .mp3 .
From Marvin, it would be Alan Hovhaness. By this time, I was buying albums in .mp3 from Amazon. Right now, the number is nine, but we are still counting.

There is no way to thank these guys for the abundance of educational material they present to the listener each and every week.

Leave a Reply

