dedicated to the support of living musicians and composers

Sax Starved? Try Q2 This Week

Sax Starved? Try Q2 This Week
image 1
Nadia tells us, “For some reason, I’ve been late to the party on saxophones. I had a good, saxophone-playing friend in college who was so frustrated by what he termed “the musical limitations” of his instrument that I developed an ‘over it’ attitude towards an instrument I was barely familiar with. Ah the folly of youth! In the years since those heady, saxophone-prejudiced days, and as I’ve been slowly adding sax to my listening diet, I’ve come to a realization: I like the saxophone!

This week will be heavily sax-infused. There’s a lot of wonderful new music out there featuring saxophones, much of it commissioned by sax heroes the Prism Quartet. We’ll get hip to sax solos, sax quartets, and sax concertos. Yay saxophone!
image 2
Prism Quartet

Nadia
Nadia Sirota on Q2 streams every week day 12:00-4:00 noon and midnight.

It’s Q2 from WQXR for the fearless music you crave.

Leave a Reply

