dedicated to the support of living musicians and composers

Who Remembers the band “Focus”?

Recently, Will Constantine Jr, on his program Blues, Bop and Beyond at WPRB, Community Radio, Princeton, NJ, re-awakened me to the Progressive Rock band Focus. I was in the car, it was after 11;00AM, Will was on, I of course put WPRB on the radio. I heard these guitar licks and said “That’s Focus!!” I had back in the day had their album Live At the Rainbow (Sire Records 1973). The concert album included their signature piece Hocus Pocus, which I dearly loved. I used to drive people stark raving nuts playing this piece. It features the vocalese of Thjis van Leer, the organist and floutist. Also rather well represented is the guitar work of Jan Akkerman.
image 1
So, I needed to follow up on this. I went to Netflix and found three DVD’s Focus: The Anthology; Focus: Inside Focus, and Focus: Masters From the Vault.

Inside Focus

Focus: the Anthology

Focus: Masters From The Vault
I am really enjoying going back into this band. There are other DVD’s available and I will be getting into them as time allows.

So, thank you Will Constantine and WPRB

3 responses

  1. Philip Blackburn

    Focus (and Procol Harum) were my favorite bands growing up. I had all the albums but loved staring at “In and Out Of” Focus with its fuzzy dot patterns on the cover. There were many better tracks than Hocus Pocus on the albums and both Van Leer and Ackerman did their own solo albums that soothed my teenage mind.

    September 24, 2010 at 10:03 AM

  2. Hey Philip-

    How are you? I actually have a video of Procol Harum, Gary Brooker with Matthew Fisher on the Hammond in a monk’s garb, doing “Whiter Shade of Pale” on BBC TV about 1967. Its not great video, and mono sound. But seeing Brooker in this, and then in the 2002 Concert For George (Harrison) makes the earlier piece worthwhile. I also have Procol Harum with Matthew Fisher Live at Union Chapel (2006).

    Cheers

    September 24, 2010 at 10:24 AM

  3. Philip- I should have said thanks for the comment. This blog gets lots of views, but few comments.

    September 24, 2010 at 10:26 AM

Leave a Reply

