From Cantaloupe Music: So Percussion – Paul Lansky: Threads

Cantaloupe Music the recording arm of Bang On A Can offers a new recording of music by Paul Lansky performed by So Percussion.

Paul Lansky

About Paul Lansky-

“Paul Lansky (born June 18, 1944 in New York) is widely considered one of the original electronic music or computer music composers, and has been producing works from the 1970s up to the present day. A former student of George Perle, he is a currently professor of music composition at Princeton University, and in addition to his music is known as a pioneer in the development of computer music languages for algorithmic composition (see Real-Time Cmix). He is also former student of Milton Babbitt and Edward Cone.

CA21064 (01/25/11)

So Percussion is Eric Beach, Josh Quillen, Adam Sliwinski, and Jason Treuting

About So Percussion-

“Since 1999, So Percussion has been creating music that explores all the extremes of emotion and musical possibility. It has not been an easy music to define. Called an “experimental powerhouse” by the Village Voice, “astonishing and entrancing” by Billboard Magazine, and “brilliant” by the New York Times, the Brooklyn based quartet’s innovative work with today’s most exciting composers and their own original music has quickly helped them forge a unique and diverse career.”

From Cantaloupe about this album-


1. Prelude
2. Recitative
3. Chorus
4. Aria
5. Recitative
6. Chorus
7. Aria
8. Recitative
9. Chorus
10. Chorale Prelude


“Threads, written for Sō Percussion in 2005, is a half-hour long “cantata” for percussion quartet in ten short movements. There are three “threads” that are interwoven in the piece: Arias and Preludes that focus on the metallic pitched sounds of vibraphones, glockenspiel and pipes; Choruses in which drumming predominates; and Recitatives made largely from Cage-like noise instruments, bottles, flower pots, crotales, etc. The aim of the different threads is to highlight the wide range of qualities that percussion instruments are capable of, from lyrical and tender to forceful and aggressive, and weave them into one continuous “thread”. The movements are performed without interruption.”
-Paul Lansky

The album, CD at Cantaloupe $7.50, the .mp3 album at Amazon $8.99.