New From ECM: Iro Haarla Quintet “Vespers”

“The newly-published Expanded Critics Poll 2010 of US magazine JazzTimes finds ECM voted #1 Record Label of the Year, “The Best of the Industry.” (Full results are given in the March 2011 issue of the magazine).”

Vespers Iro Haarla Quintet
ECM 2172 (April 2011)

Iro Haarla Quintet

Iro Haarla piano, harp
Mathias Eick trumpet
Trygve Seim tenor- and soprano saxophone
Ulf Krokfors double-bass
Jon Christensen drums

“Six years after the much-loved Northbound – described by All About Jazz as “lovely, articulate, river-deep music” -, a new album of emotionally-powerful ballads from outstanding composer-pianist-harpist Iro Haarla and her remarkable Finnish-Norwegian ensemble. The line-up is unchanged, likewise the commitment of the players, top-flight improvisers, every one. Vespers continues a tradition of music – and a scope feeling – that Iro helped establish in the Far North in her years as composer/arranger/orchestrator for Edward Vesala’s bands (and magical ECM recordings including Lumi, Ode To The Death Of Jazz, Invisible Storm and Nordic Gallery).