From Innova: Zeitgeist “Here and Now”

Zeitgeist Here and Now
Innova #799

Celebrating Thirty Years of Zeitgeist

“In 2008, Zeitgeist new music ensemble asked thirty Minnesota composers (one for each year of Zeitgeist’s existence) to write 150-second long pieces (one second for each year of Minnesota’s existence as a state) as a kind of double celebration event.


The results—a long-exposure picture of Minnesota’s longlively compositional scene in the first decade of the new millennium, or simply perhaps thirty love letters to Zeitgeist—transcend the occasion. These are miniatures that refuse to be confined by the label. Ranging from neoclassic to unclassifiable, they make one thing plain: Zeitgeist has no house style. Intrepid midwives of the new, these omnicompetent musicians have embraced the untrammeled polystylism of our day. This ardent openness has much to do, perhaps everything to do, with the group’s longevity, keeping Zeitgeist in tune with the zeitgeist.

The groups of works flow from modernistical, to improvisatory, ethnically-flavored, plugged-in, cheekily theatrical, and neo-classicalish. Listeners will find Libby Larsen, Steve Heitzeg and Randall Davidson cheek by jowl with Mary Ellen Childs, Janika Vandervelde and Douglas Ewart. Like any good midwestern smorgasbord, this one has something for every taste.

Lauded for providing “a once-in-a-lifetime experience for adventurous concertgoers,” Zeitgeist is a new music chamber ensemble comprised of two percussion, piano and woodwinds. Always eager to explore new artistic frontiers, Zeitgeist collaborates with composers of all types to create imaginative new work that challenges the boundaries of traditional chamber music.

The members of Zeitgeist are:
Heather Barringer, percussion
Patti Cudd, percussion
Pat O’Keefe, woodwinds
Shannon Wettstein, piano.

Composers / works are:

Disc One
1. Ann Millikan: Kuiper Belt Wamfle 2:43
2. Douglas Geers: Tight Tie Size Try 2:11
3. Phil Fried: Itty Bitty Symphony 2:31
4. Chris Gable: Beat That Clock 2:46
5. Kathy Jackanich: But do the cranes know 4:14
6. Justin Henry Rubin: Il momento lussureggiante per tre musicisti 3:04
7. Gao Hong: Celebration of 150/30 Year 3:12
8. Dick Hensold: Zeitgeist Anniversary Tune 2:21
9. Steve Heitzeg: American Indian Movement (No Reservations) 3:46
10. Chris Granias: Z-Bekiko 3:37
11. Carei Thomas: Three Sides of the Issue: Cartoon XVIa 1:55
12. David Means: Thirty for Four 1:51
13. Douglas Ewart: Spells 2:41
14. Erik Fratzke: Ruggles on Main 2:07
Total Time: 38:56

Disc Two
1. Scott Miller: And Thirty More II 2:39
2. Mark Eden: Some Kind of Virus 2:26
3. Brian Heller: Playing Back/Listening Forward 2:44
4. Matthew Smith: They’re In There Somewhere 2:26
5. Philip Blackburn: Stück 2:34
6. David Evan Thomas: Quiptych 1:34
7. Carol Barnett: Z=30; Schumann’s Excellent Extension 2:36
8. Brent Michael Davids: Something Pearl 3:07
9. Randall Davidson: Came to believe that a power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity 1:50
10. Libby Larsen: Ricochet 1:59
11. Janika Vandervelde: Getting Your Z’s (Or Not) 2:54
12. Marc Jensen: Snowfall 4:21
13. Mary Ellen Childs: Faint Object Camera 3:14
14. Jeffrey Brooks: Still Life with Compressed Air 2:25
15. David Wolff: Mutagenesis 3:05
16. Mike Olson: Ineffable 2:29

Total Time: 42:23 ”

At Amazon in CD or .mp3 $13.76