dedicated to the support of living musicians and composers

From Nadia Sirota on Q2:”Remembering New York After 9/11″

Nadia Sirota on Q2 streams weekdays at 12:00 noon and midnight at Q2

Requiems and Works of Remembrance
Monday, September 05, 2011

“It’s hard to believe that “September eleventh” was ten years ago. I moved to New York City eleven years ago basically to date, and that event still remains as vivid a memory to me as ever. This anniversary is stirring up plentiful emotions for me, and I imagine I’m hardly the only one for whom this is true.

i1
Lights at ground zero (A. Strakey/flickr)

Mostly, I remember the fact that New York really came together after 9/11; there was a real sense of community, civic pride, and joy post that event which, I have found in trying to write this article, is particularly complicated to articulate. Whatever my feelings about political events post-9/11, I really treasure my memories of the city from late 2001.

This week we will celebrate the lives lost that day with a series of requiems, memorial pieces, and works which simply ‘helped us through.’

Q2’s own Requiem Project begins Friday, September 9 at 4 p.m. at the conclusion of this week’s Remembering New York After 9/11 with Nadia Sirota.”
i3


Nadia Sirota

Leave a Reply

