From Naxos: “Upcoming Releases”


SAINT-SAËNS, C.: Piano Concertos, Vol. 3 – Nos. 4 and 5 (Descharmes, Malmö Symphony, Soustrot)

Saint-Saëns’s mature creative genius shines throughout these last two piano concertos, looking back over a glorious musical ancestry while at the same time opening the door to new worlds. The Fourth Piano Concerto is prescient of both his great Organ Symphony and the concertos of Rachmaninov, revealing Saint-Saëns at his most inspired and innovative. The Fifth was composed in the Egyptian temple town of Luxor, and displays a rich tapestry of exotic cultural influences from Javanese, Spanish and Middle Eastern music, as well as portrayals of chirping Nile crickets and croaking frogs, and the composer’s representation of ‘the joy of a sea crossing’. Volumes 1 and 2 can be heard on 8.573476 and 77.

Saint-Saëns, Camille
[Show Details] Piano Concerto No. 4 in C Minor, Op. 44
1. I. Allegro moderato 00:12:27
2. II. Allegro vivace 00:14:00
[Show Details] Piano Concerto No. 5 in F Major, Op. 103, “Egyptian”
3. I. Allegro animato 00:11:21
4. II. Andante 00:10:59
5. III. Molto allegro 00:06:20

Total Playing Time: 00:55:07

BROUWER, L: Book of Signs (The) / BELLINATI, P.: Concerto Caboclo (Brasil Guitar Duo, Delaware Symphony, Amado)

These two concertos show the increasing importance of the guitar duo on the world’s concert stages. Leo Brouwer, one of the foremost Latin American composers, has written many admired guitar concertos but The Book of Signs is his first for two guitars, a double concerto of great virtuosity, with a majestic, songful theme in its central movement. A crucial figure in the global promotion of Brazilian rhythms for the guitar, Paulo Bellinati deploys luxurious harmonies and brilliantly effective techniques to pay tribute to the country music of São Paulo State in Concerto Caboclo.

Brouwer, Leo
[Show Details] The Book of Signs
1. I. The Signs of Memory: Theme and Variations 00:15:40
2. II. Variaciones sobre un tema sentimental 00:13:49
3. III. Allegro 00:15:21

Bellinati, Paulo
[Show Details] Concerto Caboclo
4. I. Toada: Andante, quasi andantino 00:08:03
5. II. Moda di Viola: Adagio 00:05:49
6. III. Ponteado: Vivo 00:05:22

Total Playing Time: 01:04:04

KOŽELUCH, L.: Cantata for the Coronation of Leopold II, “Hail to the Monarch” (Vylíčilová, Kořínek, Moravec, Martinů Voices, Prague Symphony, Štilec)

The coronation of Leopold II in Prague in 1791 came at a difficult time for European monarchs, although Leopold himself enjoyed a reputation as an enlightened ruler. Two musical works were commissioned for the occasion: Mozart’s opera La clemenza di Tito and Koželuch’s cantata Heil dem Monarchen. The cantata, by turns celebratory, serene and darkly dramatic, was well received and enhanced Koželuch’s reputation in royal circles. It almost certainly played a part in his appointment in 1792 to the court of Leopold’s son and successor, the last Holy Roman Emperor Franz II.

Koželuch, Leopold
Meissner, August Gottlieb, lyricist(s)
[Show Details] Cantata for the Coronation of Leopold II, P. XIX:6, “Heil dem Monarchen”
1. Introduzione 00:05:43
2. Heil dem Monarchen (Chorus) 00:03:18
3. Recitative: Vielfach ist der Fürsten Los (Tenor II) 00:02:54
4. Willkommen mit dem Blute (Tenor II, Chorus) 00:05:12
5. Recitative: Glänzend Bild (Soprano) 00:03:23
6. Aria: Du, des Himmels schönste Tochter (Soprano) 00:06:32
7. Recitative: Ach! Ein neuer Pfad! (Tenor I) 00:04:21
8. Aria: Doch mit ungebleichten Wangen (Tenor I) 00:04:35
9. Recitative: Welch ein Schauspiel (Soprano) 00:03:30
10. Aria: Die in der Fürsten Krone (Soprano) 00:05:26
11. Recitative: Ist es Täuschung (Tenor I) 00:03:52
12. Daß wir noch am schwanken Stabe (Chorus) 00:04:04
13. Recitative: Doch warum (Tenor II) 00:01:43
14. Aria: Ist es Glück (Tenor II) 00:03:52
15. Recitative: Aus den Fluten (Soprano) 00:04:38
16. Trio: Da erschien er (Soprano, Tenor I, II) 00:03:24
17. Recitative: Sieh, um deine Stirne (Tenor I) 00:02:14
18. Unseres Volkes (Chorus) 00:02:04

Total Playing Time: 01:10:45

More here.

See the full article here .

Naxos Records is the world’s leading classical music label as measured by the number of new recordings it releases and the depth and breadth of its catalogue. Naxos was founded in 1987 by Klaus Heymann, a German-born entrepreneur based in Hong Kong. Under his continuing stewardship, Naxos has developed from being known primarily as a budget label focusing on standard repertoire into a global music group comprising a raft of downloading and streaming platforms, a significant catalogue of multimedia products, a vast international logistics network, a recording engineering arm, a publications division, and a licensing department.

Naxos, the record label, has transformed into a virtual encyclopaedia of classical music with a catalogue of unparalleled depth and breadth. Innovative strategies for recording exciting new repertoire with exceptional talent have enabled Naxos Records to develop one of the largest and fastest-growing catalogues of unduplicated repertoire. Some 9,000 titles are currently available at affordable prices, recorded in state-of- the-art sound, both in hard format and on digital platforms. Naxos works with artists of the highest calibre and its recordings have been recognised with numerous Grammy® awards, Penguin Guide 3-star recommendations, Gramophone Editor’s Choice Awards and many other international honours.

Naxos still stays true to its original promise of offering great value. Costs are kept to a minimum by focusing on the music rather than the artist; money is not wasted on expensive artist promotions, and profits are invested into recordings of new music rather than multiple versions of standard repertoire already in the catalogue. Naxos recordings include complete cycles or cycles-in- progress of basic repertoire, such as the complete piano works of Liszt or the complete string quartets of Haydn, but the label has also introduced music lovers to many neglected composers, such as Joachim Raff, Ferdinand Ries and Simon Mayr. It has also helped to put contemporary composers such as Krzysztof Penderecki, John Corigliano and William Bolcom in reach of a much wider audience. Additionally the label continues to add to the numerous world première recordings it already has to its credit.

Naxos Records also has gained stature by pioneering groundbreaking projects like the American Classics series. Currently numbering about 200 titles, the series is set to be the most comprehensive recording project of American concert music ever attempted. Naxos is also leading the field with the landmark Naxos Historical Series. The releases in this massive restoration project are engineered by leading restoration engineers/artists. The series covers all genres of classical music as well as legends of jazz and pop music from the first half of the 20th century. Other notable Naxos series include Japanese Classics, Spanish Classics, Early Music, Organ Encyclopaedia, the Guitar Collection, and Opera Classics. The catalogue of Naxos World, a pioneering world music label, includes international music of many different cultures and genres, folk, pop and classical alike.

All this, together with the development of a range of apps and ebooks, demonstrates the Naxos commitment to providing the best possible access to recorded classical music in the world.

Naxos Records is part of the Naxos Music Group. For a comprehensive presentation of the group’s services and products, please visit

For new music by living composers from New York Public Radio

For great Jazz

Dan Buskirk Spinning Jazz Mondays 11:00AM-1:00PM
Will Constantine Jr, Blues Bop and Beyond Thursdays 11:00-2:00 featuring Latin Jazz
Jerry Gordon Serenade to a Cookoo Frdays 11:00AM-2:00PM with Jerry’s Room at 1:00Pm
Jeannie Becker Sunday Jazz 10:00AM-1:00Pm

Please help promote STEM in your local schools.


Stem Education Coalition