From Innova: “Of Radiance & Refraction”

From Innova
Innova is the home for New Music in America

Innova is the recording arm of American Composers Forum, St Paul Mn.


Of Radiance & Refraction

A shining debut
Composers: Claude Baker, Sven-David Sandström, Dominick DiOrio, Igor Stravinsky, John Gibson, Aaron Travers
NOTUS, Dominick DiOrio, Zorá String Quartet

Catalog Number:
#1 002
Genre: new classical
Collection: choral

Release Date:
Sep 28, 2018

For tracks see the full article.

NOTUS is one of the country’s most unique collegiate vocal ensembles, with a singular commitment to championing living composers through the commissioning, programming, and recording of new works. Directed by conductor-composer Dominick DiOrio, NOTUS has performed across the nation, from regional and national ACDA conferences to Carnegie Hall. In September of 2018, NOTUS released their first commercial album on the Innova label, NOTUS: Of Radiance and Refraction, which includes five world premiere recordings by IU faculty composers.

Over the course of its history, NOTUS has delivered premiere or second performances of more than 150 new works in the choral repertoire. This includes recent commissions and premieres by Claude Baker, Don Freund, John Gibson, P.Q. Phan, Sven-David Sandström, Aaron Travers, and Zachary Wadsworth. NOTUS also regularly programs a rich and eclectic array of leading contemporary composers, such as Chen Yi, Eriks Esenvalds, Sofia Gubaidulina, Sydney Guillaume, Ted Hearne, James MacMillan, Nico Muhly, Tawnie Olson, Steve Reich, and Christopher Theofanidis, as well as music by their director. In 2013, the ensemble was honored to collaborate with Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Caroline Shaw and guest conductor and former King’s Singer Simon Carrington

NOTUS is proud to also shine a spotlight on the talent of Jacobs School of Music student composers through an annual contest for new choral works. Winning compositions receive premiere performances by NOTUS and help to launch national careers for their young composers, such as IU alumni Texu Kim, Christopher LaRosa, Matthew Recio, and Corey Rubin. In 2016, NOTUS member and IU student Alex Berko went on to be named the winner of the ACDA Raymond W. Brock Memorial Student Composition Prize.

NOTUS was originally founded in 1980 as the Indiana University Contemporary Vocal Ensemble, and it was renamed in 2013 after the selection of its fourth director, Dominick DiOrio. The choir’s new name was inspired by Notos, the Greek god of the south wind. Previous directors include Alan Harler (1980-1981), Jan Harrington (1981-1992), and Carmen Helena Téllez (1992-2012).

Liner notes

See the full article here .


Please help promote STEM in your local schools.

Stem Education Coalition

John Schaefer

For new music by living composers from New York Public Radio

For great Jazz


WPRB 103.3FM

Please visit The Jazz Loft Project based on the work of Sam Stephenson
Please visit The Jazz Loft Radio project from New York Public Radio